Kusudama Flower – Origami

Hi there,

We are back with a nice and simple activity this week – Origami. Project ArSa is slowly but nicely shaping up and we had to start doing different things. And so, Aarthi and I decided to go with the Kusudama Flower for this week.

Origami to me was paper boats and planes during my childhood. Beyond that I never explored the art of paper folding, though it looked very interesting whenever I saw it (I guess it was my sheer laziness to cut a paper into square and proceed 😀 ) Later there was something I did in Origami (I faintly remember doing it) but have no clue about it. And then it was lost. On the contrary, Aarthi loves it and I remember her fiddling with paper during college 😉

I had seen many pictures of Kusudama Flower but had never got to doing it. So my first step was to go and hunt for a tutorial on YouTube. And this is what I got. Simple and step by step instructions at a pace one can do in parallel, is what made me go to this tutorial again.

I decided to go in for a trial before going for the main flower, just so to get a hang of the folds. And that was a good decision. I finished up the first petal in a hurry and sent a picture to Aarthi, who found the petal to be different. Upon rechecking the video and my petal, I realised the mistake 😉

IMG-20170629-WA0022_WM
The mistake

I continued with making the petals for the trial and made the Kusudama Flower, incorporating the ‘wrongly done’ petal too 😉 .

After this I went ahead with the making of the flower for the project, for which I chose a red sheet of paper. I cut the paper into 10 cm x 10 cm sheets and used them for the petals.

KusudamaFlower
Kusudama Flower

It was a nice experience after ages. Should try doing it more often and also try out the various types of origami.

See you soon in the next post. Until then cheers!

One thought on “Kusudama Flower – Origami

Leave a Reply

